MODOC Tobacco Free banner

MODOC Is Going Tobacco-Free

Starting April 1, 2018, all Missouri Department of Corrections facilities will be tobacco-free.

Don’t be an April fool! If you use tobacco, get started now on your plan to quit or cut back. We’re in this together. We can help you kick the habit or manage your cravings. You can help us make our facilities and our communities healthier places to live and work.

The New Rules

calendar date 1st time to quit!

In compliance with a court order, the Department of Corrections has agreed to implement a policy banning the sale, possession and use of all tobacco products within the perimeter of each DOC institution — including outdoor areas — as well as inside all buildings and vehicles owned or leased by the department.

The policy applies to everyone: staff, volunteers, contracted staff, visitors, clients and offenders. It applies to all tobacco products: cigarettes, cigars, loose tobacco, e-cigarettes, vaping devices, chewing tobacco and any other tobacco-containing substance.

The only exceptions to this ban will be for authorized religious purposes.

A designated smoking area will be available for use by employees and visitors outside the perimeter of all department facilities and buildings, as required by state statute.

The tobacco prohibition is effective April 1, 2018.

The Cost of Tobacco

Tobacco use costs lives and money.

  • The adult smoking rate in Missouri, 22.1 percent, is among the highest in the United States.
  • Every year, almost 10,000 Missourians die from tobacco-related diseases.
  • Missouri spends almost $2 billion annually to treat smoking-related illnesses.
  • Secondhand smoke causes an average of 1,150 deaths in Missouri annually.
  • Wallet Hub estimates that smoking costs a Missourian $1.2 million over a lifetime, in out-of-pocket expenses, health care, loss of income and other costs.

Learn more about how tobacco affects Missourians.

How to Quit

cigarette broken in two pieces

Are you ready to quit tobacco? You don't have to do it alone. We have tips and programs to help you kick the habit.

For state employees, the Missouri Consolidated Health Care Plan (MCHCP) provides the 2018 Quit Tobacco Road Map to help you prepare to quit, formulate a plan, navigate obstacles, manage cravings and get past withdrawal. Pick up a copy at work, or download it here.

Tobacco Control Resources

Nicotine Replacement Therapy

For employees who want to quit, MCHCP also offers nicotine replacement therapy products at no cost. For offenders, nicotine replacement therapy products are available for sale at institution canteens.

Employee Health Insurance Incentive

If you choose to quit tobacco, you can save money on insurance. The Tobacco-Free Incentive of $40 per month per person is available to Missouri Consolidated Health Care Plan (MCHCP) members and dependents. Qualifying members must be non-Medicare subscribers enrolled in an MCHCP medical plan without the TRICARE Supplement Plan.

Offender Tobacco Limit Timeline

The Department of Corrections will gradually reduce the amount of tobacco each offender may purchase or have in his or her possession, leading up to the cessation of all tobacco product sales March 16.

Jan. 1, 2018:

  • 5 pouches of loose tobacco
  • 1 lighter
  • 2 packs of rolling papers
  • 5 packs of cigarettes

Feb. 1, 2018:

  • 3 pouches of loose tobacco
  • 1 lighter
  • 1 pack of rolling papers
  • No cigarette sales. Offenders may possess 3 packs.

March 1, 2018:

  • 2 pouches of loose tobacco
  • 1 lighter
  • 1 pack of rolling papers
  • No cigarette sales. Offenders may possess 2 packs.

April 1, 2018:

Tobacco ban begins. All DOC facilities are tobacco free. No employees, contracted staff, vendors or volunteers may bring tobacco or tobacco-related products into any DOC buildings. All tobacco products, including e-cigarettes and vaping devices, are contraband. A conduct violation will be issued to any offender found in possession of tobacco or tobacco products.