Transitional Housing Units

Classroom full of offenders with books and hand-written posters

The Missouri Department of Correction has implemented Transitional Housing Units (THU) in prisons with a focus on ensuring offenders are prepared for return to their communities. An offender may enter a THU approximately six months prior to release to gain access to service and programs designed to help make a smooth transition. 

Services and Programs

  • Academic and vocational education
  • Obtaining proper identification and paperwork
  • Cognitive restructuring
  • Mental health, medical and substance abuse treatment with continuity of care into the community
  • Education on faith-based support
  • Employability and life skills training
  • Employment services
  • Child support information
  • Education on strengthening family relationships and pro-social community participation
  • Impact of Crime on Victims class
The Ohio Risk Assessment System (ORAS), a validated risk and needs assessment, identifies dynamic factors that drive a person toward negative or criminal behaviors.


The Missouri Department of Corrections uses the Ohio Risk Assessment System (ORAS) to identify dynamic factors that drive a person toward negative or criminal behaviors. The validated risk and needs assessment identifies each person’s risk of re-offending. The valuable information garnered using this tool helps to ensure each person gets the interventions and programming that will help them succeed. This assessment system is used throughout a Missourian's time with the department. The data collected in the assessment is used to establish a collaborative case plan and identify which reentry services and programs best meet each person's individual needs.

Institutions with Transitional Housing Units

  • Algoa Correctional Center
  • Boonville Correctional Center
  • Chillicothe Correctional Center
  • Farmington Correctional Center
  • Maryville Treatment Center
  • Moberly Correctional Center
  • Missouri Eastern Correctional Center
  • Northeast Correctional Center
  • Tipton Correctional Center
  • Western Missouri Correctional Center
  • Western Reception, Diagnostic and Correctional Center
  • Women's Eastern Reception, Diagnostic and Correctional Center

The maximum level institutions are providing pre-release services to those offenders who are being released from these facilities. Due to the small number of releases from the maximum level institutions, it is an inefficient use of resources to create a specific unit.